They All Can’t Be Winners

They All Can’t Be Winners

Here is the good side. This is the hat

I am going to hold off on showing the “bad sides” until I do some repairing. I think I can fix some of my mistakes and I would like to write a separate post about how I did that. 

The title of this blog is the EXACT reason I love and appreciate knitting. I honestly didn’t realize it at the time. I wrote about all the reasons why I started knitting here, but today’s post is why I appreciate it so much. That other post is about why I started knitting, and today’s is about why I continue. 

No, the MTM was not a complete failure. It still resembles a hat and will still get worn (by someone) someday. It didn’t turn out how I expected, and you know what, that’s OK. And there it is. This hat I wanted so badly to knit did NOT turn out as I hoped. It doesn’t look anything like the model’s on the pattern’s page and even with all my repairs, it still won’t.

When things like this happen in my knitting (or in life) I recall this podcast interview where the founder of Fibre Forward talked about how she learned to knit just after her divorce. She explained how it gave her an outlet to experiment with new things…..and fail, and see how the world didn’t come to an end! I am probably not doing her comment justice, but the root I am getting to is how knitting has been such a tool to manage my stress and anxiety. Some of my projects will come out lovely, and some, not so much. Knitting is a creative art. We need to try new methods and techniques out and see where they take us.

Photo taken pre-Covid.

I still tag my knitting photos with #pandemicknitting because we are not out of the woods yet with Covid-19. I foresee many beautiful and botched FOs in my future and I will learn something new with each and every one. If you feel like knitting may help you calm down or relieve stress, please do get in touch with me. Contrary to what some people believe, you don’t have to open up an Etsy shop just because you knit a cute hat. It’s not that kind of pressure…but be warned, you may want to knit a matching cowl!

Published by corestitcher

Hi! My name is Crissy and I am a pilates instructor and a knitter. My love of pilates started WAY back in the year 2000 when I was having terrible back pain. Turns out..I had terrible posture and Pilates was recommended to help improve it. Fast forward 4 years and I became a certified instructor on ALL Pilates apparatus. Pilates was taking care of my body, but I needed something to occupy my brain. One winter when all members of my immediate family (me included) got the flu. I have always loved crafts and I had this desire to learn something new and make it with my hands. It was the winter of 2017 and I had an entire new world of yarn in front of me that was ready to be discovered.

One thought on “They All Can’t Be Winners

  1. Love this! I first learned to knit years ago & it really helped me during a stressful time in my life being a caretaker of my grandmother. Now, I stared up again (inspired by you) & found it helped me again when I was struggling with anxiety (we’re talking pre-covid). I even made a few headband gifts. Now I’m trying my hand at knitting in the round. I had to undo The Who project at one point but it’s true that knitting really teaches us something & groups us work through things. I see it as a mindful meditation.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started