Chores

I am joining the bloganuary community. Each day is a new prompt to inspire a blog post. Today’s is

“What chore do you find most challenging to do?”

Photo by Anna Shvets on Pexels.com

You can enjoy your hobby as much as you’d like, but there is always something that will be a “chore”. When you look up the definition, the first you may find is “a small or odd job” or a “routine task”. When it is put that way it doesn’t seem too bad. However, another definition is a “hard or unpleasant task”. Ahhhh, this is where the term gets a bad name. I am going to talk about “chores” when it comes to hobbies. When I say “hobby”, I mean something that one does for enjoyment or relaxation. I am not talking about the hobbies that are “passions” and then become your job. No. I am talking about hobbies for which no compensation is provided.

My main hobby is knitting. Several people have suggested I open an Etsy shop or the offer to pay for the items I knit. I always decline. The most I have ever accepted is payment for materials and that is usually because I don’t have the type of yarn needed in my stash. This has happened maybe once or twice. So when “chores” come up in knitting, I do them all for the love of my hobby. Not because I “have” to do it or because I have to meet a deadline…it’s just because I “want” to do it.

Ends still remain on the two above afghan blocks

So what is a knitting chore? I think many knitters will say “weaving in the ends”. I would agree that this is a chore. When I first learned to knit, I had at least two scarves stored away with the ends dangling. I think I was so anxious to start the next project that I just put it aside for another day. These days I still think it is a “chore” but I am a bit more diligent about tying up the loose ends….literally! It means the project is 100% finished and I can’t mark it as complete on my ravelry page. I still don’t love this step, but I now think of it as just one more step in the knitting process.

Fellow knitters: If you are looking for tips on how to weave in ends, VeryPink has great videos that I review over and over again. Check it out here: https://verypink.com/category/techniques/weavingends/

What do you consider a chore in your hobby?

Published by corestitcher

Hi! My name is Crissy and I am a pilates instructor and a knitter. My love of pilates started WAY back in the year 2000 when I was having terrible back pain. Turns out..I had terrible posture and Pilates was recommended to help improve it. Fast forward 4 years and I became a certified instructor on ALL Pilates apparatus. Pilates was taking care of my body, but I needed something to occupy my brain. One winter when all members of my immediate family (me included) got the flu. I have always loved crafts and I had this desire to learn something new and make it with my hands. It was the winter of 2017 and I had an entire new world of yarn in front of me that was ready to be discovered.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started