Barre Scents

I am a bloodhound. Well, that’s what my husband calls me. I have a very good sense of smell according to him. Honestly, I think I have a normal sense of smell and Ron doesn’t have any…but I digress.

Why am I talking about my nose? A WordPress writing prompt for #bloganuary is “Do you have a memory that is linked to a smell?” I have several but I am going to write about one that just came up recently at the barre and since this is partly a fitness blog, I thought it was appropriate.

About three years ago my friend Tracy and I were discussing how different scents can bring us back to a time or place. She is a high school teacher and she said one of her students walked over to her desk and Tracy said something like “I smell Disney! Are you wearing perfume? What is it?” The student said that she was indeed wearing perfume but was a bit embarrassed to say the name. She eventually relented and informed her teacher that the name of the perfume was “Tease” by Victoria Secret. I guess that is not something that a teenager wants to admit to her teacher. Ha!

So, Tracy goes out and purchases the perfume, or maybe her husband gives it to her as a gift. I can’t remember. She is a huge Disney World fan, as in she goes a few times a year. I am also a fan, but go every two years. She said the scent of “Tease” was just “Disney”. I always associate Disney with happiness so I thought it would be fun to give this scent a try. I headed to the mall and bought the “Tease” body spray. I try it and I really do like the scent, but sadly I am not transported in my mind to the happiest place on Earth. Oh well, I still like the scent and I think body sprays are a good way to freshen up before and after gym workouts so the purchase was worth it to me.

Fast forward a few weeks and I head off to Disney with my family. I didn’t bring “Tease” because it was a full size and didn’t want to have to pack it in my luggage. We go on our trip, have a great time, and I don’t think any particular place is reminding me of my new scent. Oh well. I guess Tracy was the lucky one.

We arrive back home and I forget all about it. I think I was home at least a week or more and I remembered to reach for my body spray. As soon as one mist left the bottle I was jolted back to Disney! No joke! I saw myself walking around the Grand Floridian shopping area. In my mind I was there!

Two and a half years later (which brings me to just last week), I take my first live barre class with Tracy. We are standing next to each other waiting for the class to start and she turns to me and says “Tease?”, I responded “Yep!” And that was all that was needed to say. We were both in two happy places at once….Barre class and Disney!

Published by corestitcher

Hi! My name is Crissy and I am a pilates instructor and a knitter. My love of pilates started WAY back in the year 2000 when I was having terrible back pain. Turns out..I had terrible posture and Pilates was recommended to help improve it. Fast forward 4 years and I became a certified instructor on ALL Pilates apparatus. Pilates was taking care of my body, but I needed something to occupy my brain. One winter when all members of my immediate family (me included) got the flu. I have always loved crafts and I had this desire to learn something new and make it with my hands. It was the winter of 2017 and I had an entire new world of yarn in front of me that was ready to be discovered.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started